Skip to content

Week 3: Disaster!

June 22, 2010

Due to some heavy storms and tornadoes in Illinois this month, my farm is severely damaged! I get weekly updates from the farmer, and she is working diligently to rescue the farm. Unfortunately for the CSA people, this level of disaster means no Week 3 Box. The farmer is going to tack on another week to the end of the season (in October… I can’t believe I’m going to do this for that long) to make up for this week’s loss.

Apparently the flooded soil does not bode well for crops like peppers. We should have a plethora of various lettuces, as well as cucumbers and zucchini. It’s also almost time for corn! And melons! I have high hopes that everything will work out. I don’t really care all that much about peppers anyway.

In the absence of my CSA this week I have been eating a lot of pasta. And more pizza. I also loaded up on blueberries and cherries from my favorite neighborhood grocer, HarvesTime Foods. Of course, I ate two containers of blueberries in two days, so obviously I need my big box of weeds back, stat.

No comments yet

Leave a comment