Skip to content

Week 2: KALE

June 16, 2010

This week brought more kale, more asparagus, red leaf lettuce, strawberries, carrots, random weedy greenery that I can’t think of at the moment, and more rhubarb. Quel delight!

My friend was not able to properly split the veggies with me this week, as he was going to be out of town for several days and knew he would never finish everything. This left me with a lot of asparagus and lettuce. I wasn’t able to finish everything, either, but here is a list of things I made:

1. Rhubarb pie. After the embarrassment that was my rhubarb curry, I decided to play it super safe and just slap all of my rhubarb into a frozen pie crust and call it a day. My baking adventures usually involve very complex cakes that require 5 hours of my time, and I feel weird that this 10-minute pie tasted as good as it did. I usually turn my nose up at such endeavors, and I begrudgingly admit that I am wrong to do so. Here is my “recipe”:

2 9-inch frozen pie crusts (I used the store brand variety)

Big ole handful of rhubarb, chopped into 1-2″ pieces

6 table spoons of flour, 1 1/3 cups of sugar, and a sprinkle of cinnamon – this is the dry mixture that the recipe I found on the internet called for, but I used less than half of it. Did my pie suffer? I don’t really know.

1 tbsp butter

So I let the frozen pie crusts defrost a little and then I dusted the bottom of one crust with the sugar mixture. Then I piled on the rhubarb and poured some more sugar on top of that. Then I placed small pea-sized morsels of butter randomly among the rhubarb, covered everything with the other defrosted pie crust (I didn’t do a great job at making everything smooth and pretty, but this pie was all for me) and stuck it in a 400 degree oven for about 20 minutes.  My oven is not calibrated correctly and tends to cook everything very quickly, so in case you want to make one of these delicious pies, you should probably read the original recipe here.

2. Steamed carrots. I steamed some carrots.

3. Asparagus with eggs. I scrambled some eggs with salt and pepper and blanched asparagus. If there is one thing I really pride myself on knowing how to cook, it is scrambled eggs. (Do not ask me how to boil one.)

4. Whole wheat pasta with sausage and kale. My sister recommended this recipe to me, and I followed it exactly. Well, I didn’t use the same brands, and I used about half the oil. It was amazingly good.  The recipe made an enormous amount of food, which I ate over the course of 3 days. If I get kale again, I am making this immediately. I would eat it every day. Again.

5. Salad. What else is there to say?

Overall I did a lot better this week than last. However, I couldn’t help but supplement my diet with Cheezits and ice cream. And I don’t really even like ice cream! Sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

